A curtain call

Riding my bike home from work yesterday, I abruptly felt everything was very bumpy. Just after going through a set of traffic lights on K Road. I exited the intersection, stopped and looked. Totally flat. Tried to pump it up (with little expectation of success), and was forced to face the fact that there was a significant puncture. Walked the bike home. And rang the bicycle hospital. 

The Symonds Street Bike Barn has a workshop. They were not quite closed, and I was fortunate to be treated as needing urgent intervention, and the bike was booked in for this morning. Puncture repair and annual service. Because they don't open until 0900, and parking of the car in the SMO park would be impossible after 0800, I chose to put the bike in the back of the car, and park earlier. 

Meaning a fifteen minute walk to the Bike Barn to get there by 0900. All checked in. Slight variation, which was that as the last one on the list for this week, it won't be ready until tomorrow. That's okay. Then walked back.

I chose to walk past the pohutukawa tree where the tui sing loudly most of the day. Managed to see this one amongst the leaves and flowers. It finished singing and emerged into almost full view. I had a one second opportunity to catch its curtain call. This is it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.