Waiting

One of the "joys" of travel is waiting. While I am waiting for the train I feel as if I am almost alone in the station. For the first part of my journey the train was fairly empty.

This situation changes when we arrive at Edinburgh. From there on it was standing room only for some of those who did not have a reservation. Over the tannoy it was suggested people wait for the next London train in about half an hour, but I didn't notice anybody get off the train.

We arrived at Kings Cross 26 minutes late, four minutes before we could have claimed a partial refund for the late arrival of the train. I had been hoping for just another five minutes delay.

(It is a while since I have seen the word "tannoy" used. I am not sure if it is technically correct in this case, I will have to consult the dictionary).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.