Paladian

By Paladian

Aristocrat

This is the Common Brown Butterfly - except that I'm never going to call it "common" again. This is a female, which I have never blipped before, and she holds herself so regally, from here on in, she's going to be called HRH Princess Butterfly. (I can't call her a queen butterfly because there already is one).

The main difference between the male and female is in the shape of the wings - she has much rounder shoulders - I know already - butterflies don't have shoulders. Just humour me. And the pattern on her wings is different, and her spots are a bit bluer and she's slightly larger than the male.

I was going to go on a safari down to the creek, but I thought I'd have just one more trawl around the garden, and there she was - and she let me take about 40 images of her, before she finally closed her wings with a very audible snap.

More regal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.