Ronniebofa

By Ronniebofa

Yellow label man

What to do on a wet dismal afternoon? Work in the allotment was out of the question so my brother and I decided to go for a coffee at Stirling’s Sainsbury’s. It’s a large mug of real freshly ground coffee at only £1:90 and I allow myself 4 small Scottie dog shortbread biscuits (only 80 calories for the 4) as a treat - my brother has the rest of the £1:00 packet.
At Sainsbury’s I have gained the nickname “yellow label man” since my shopping is always mainly composed of reduced price items that have reached, or about to reach, their sell buy dates. Today’s haul was quite impressive and for £6.13 I purchased goods originally priced at £15.40 - that is 40% of the original price.
Just wish all supermarkets in Stirling offered similar reductions on produce that were approaching their or at their sell buy dates. Most offer small reductions of 20% or less but it’s only Sainsbury’s and Aldi that offer savings of 50% or more.
By buying these reduced price items I’m doing my part to reduce food waste as well as being able to enjoy healthy options and treats that I would not consider at their full retail price.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.