Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Clouded Sulphur

What a nice surprise to see a sulphur in the garden today.  The moment I saw it, I grabbed my camera and shot out the door, where I immediately went into super-stealth mode.  Sulphurs tend to be very spooky butterflies, prone to take off for the hinterlands at the slightest hint of danger.  Lucky for me, this one seemed more interested in nectaring than fleeing.  I was able to get several shots that I liked, this among them.  The plain background was a nice bonus on this shot.  It has been a very poor year for this species in my area, so it really was a delight to see this one.

Back to the gym today where I crushed it with cardio.  Well, perhaps "crushed it" is too strong a term - I got through 3.5 miles.  I'm a little sore from yesterday's hard workout, so an easier day was probably better.

Looking at going to Columbia next October for a photo tour with the same guide who gave us such a wonderful experience in Costa Rica last year.  He's just sent me the itinerary and pricing and I'm pretty certain I'll book a spot.  He's capped it at 8 photographers, so a smallish group.  If anyone is interested in info, send me an email and I'll send the info.  Eleven days almost exclusively dedicated to the amazing birds of Columbia, including many endemic species.  

Life continues to be turbulent for us - this week it's felt like the universe is pissed at us and intent on hurling as many obstacles as possible in our direction.  Let's hope this passes sooner than later.  

Released three big monarchs today.  It is always surprising how much bigger this migratory generation is compared to the earlier "breeding" generations.  These three were so anxious to get on their way that as soon as I unzipped the container, the all flew right past my face and were on their way - no sticking around to chat!.  Meanwhile, in the garden, a chrysalis that had formed on one of the pots also emerged today - that one was more inclined to hang out and chit-chat for a while, which was nice.  I know - I'm talking to butterflies and that is probably pretty weird.

Happy Friday.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.