Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Underlit clouds

I'd find it difficult to count the number of times I've been out taking photographs of sunrises in the last few years.  I've become something of an expert on what to expect based on the number and movement of the clouds.  This morning I was more hopeful than expectant.  The clouds were 'jumbled' and while there were gaps towards the east, I wasn't expecting fireworks.  In the end it was quite subtle, but I do love this underlighting of the clouds from a sun yet to rise above the horizon.

A few minutes earlier it was much darker and the clouds were being driven across the sky by a keen wind (See extra).

I got to the swimming pool later, completing a mile in reasonable time, being pushed by someone else in the 'fast' lane who was, as opposed to me who was slower.  A short chat afterwards and we were agreed that you had to work twice as hard at swimming in your 50s to achieve half as much.  I'm always checking my times and the days of achieving fast times are behind me, quite galling to see the inexorable decline in speed as age advances.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.