Dutch tales

By ThisIsGerda

Read in one go

In spite of the good weather and all the chores I need to do at home I started this book and kept on reading all day...

My review:
A lovely read. I read 400 pages in one day.... It has something of a feel-good book, but there are also some dramatic events. I love how the reading of books is the continuous thread going on from start to finish. It is a bit of a smooth story, hence no fifth star. 

I also like the historic sense of the book. It starts in 1977. To me that doesn't sound too far away, but of course it is already 40 years ago... And society was very different at the time; no cellphones, no internet, mixed relationships were still frowned upon. The story is set in the Northern Territory,  Austalia where the nearest neighbour is one hour drive away. Phonecalls aren't private, everybody can listen in if you use the radio to contact somebody. Very interesting to me! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.