Marik_i

By Marik_i

Tossing the coin

Today prior to the fourth round game at US Open 2019 in Louis Armstrong Stadium the coin was tossed. I had seen Taylor Townsend two days ago winning over a player who entering the court had been sure of winning. At the tossing of the coin today I had all of my hopes for Townsend, who is not only a charming tennis player, but also extremely skilled at net play. I was rewarded. She won 7-5 6-2 today.

A big fuss has been made of her net play. I would like to ask, what's the use of the net there, if it is not being used in play. I am sick of today's  base line players who are only hitting the ball from a 70-80 foot distance to one another. I miss Billie Jean King and Martina Navratilova who came to attack at the net. That was tennis! But it seems that we may get it back in Taylor Townsend who has claimed the net back to the play. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.