Butterfly Summer

It seems to have been a good summer for butterflies both native and migrant and as summer approaches it's final fling there were lots in the garden today, including one I have not seen in the 27 years we have lived here.  

Early in the day I spotted a fresh looking Small Copper (Bottom left), a rare visitor, most often seen at this time of year.  The exciting find was a Brown Argus (top two shots) which was flitting around at the edge of my vision as we ate lunch in the summerhouse.   I thought it was something different and so it proved when I picked up the camera and consulted Butterflies UK website after lunch.  Plenty of whites still active, ensuring there will be no shortage of them next year!

A quiet sort of day, doing some admin and working on a talk I am giving next week .... if you are in the Shrewsbury area on Tuesday evening, I'm at Bayson Hill Memorial Hall 730pm, talking about Bulbs for all Seasons.   Blipmeet anyone? :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.