One Day, Two Castles

Cirencester has a beautiful volunteer-run outdoor swimming pool. Built in 1870, it is the UK's oldest public outdoor swimming pool in continuous use. I decided to go for a swim this morning. I’m not the strongest swimmer but I do enjoy it, and I pushed myself to do a couple more lengths than my original goal. The water is spring fed and felt super soft like I’ve never felt before.

The castle above it is what used to be Cirencester Barracks and I included a view of it from the other side in my blip yesterday.

I mooched around town after my swim - dove into the large parish church when the heavens opened, and looked in a few shops. I had arranged a late checkout from the campsite so I finally made my way home at about 4pm.

Once home just before 530 I had just 30 minutes to unload the van and get changed before heading down to the station for a train to Windsor. I had made a plan to visit some friends from California who were staying there for one night before flying home after a cruise. We had a delicious dinner eating outside by the Thames and then had a sunset walk around the outside of Windsor Castle. So...one day, two castles!

It was a fun but very busy day with me on my feet for most of it! I’m exhausted and very ready for bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.