Baby Let Me be

So, ahem, years ago I was on holiday with me mam and da.... we were heading to the pub one night and I nabbed me da’a shirt because I had really bad sunburn and it was nice and light

Roll forward to my exams at the end of the next year and my flat mate was wearing her boyfriends jumper because he was far cleverer than us; (and let us know by the smell he left on the jumper) ... to straighten the balance - I pulled on my da’s shirt which had found its way to Edinburgh with me ...

We are all sitting in the exam room and G says ‘I’ll be okay. I’m wearing phil’s jumper’ and I said ‘I’ll be okay too cause I’m wearing my da’s shirt’. R turns to me and says. ‘is your dad good at economics then? And I say ‘my da is good at everything’. And so the exam shirt began.

Sadly the following year my da died, but I still wore the Exam shirt to all my exams. I carried it in the back of the car when I sat my driving test. I had little bit of it cut out and pinned to my suit when I went for an interview - and I made himself do the same! And it always worked!

Since I stopped doing exams; I’ve held on to it. For cough, cough years it’s been stuffed in the back of my knicker drawer - and occasionally I take it out and look at it and remember that holiday and the exams it got me through.

Then.... my neighbour posted on social media ; a link to a lady who makes keepsakes from old clothes! Her daughter has just passed out as a nurse and had her training uniform made into bears.


I thought about it for a while and then, the other week; I was clearing the knicker drawer again - and look what I found. I posted it off to her and asked if there was anything she could do for it....


And this Bear is the result - how delighted am I. I can’t wait to get my mitts on this chappie


Photo is courtesy of Susan’s memories and keepsake creations :). A very clever lady.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.