Mrs Lowry & Son

This film has already garnered rave reviews and it closed this years Edinburgh Film Festival.
Its brilliant and the acting of Vanessa Redgrave and Timothy Spall is a Masterclass in acting.
 
The story about this Lancashire artist, famous for his “stick figure” paintings, focuses on the mother –son relationship, the bedridden, bitter woman and the timid son who worked as a rent collector during the day and painted by night.
 
She died before he became one of the most popular and feted of British artists rejecting both an OBE and a knighthood. 
Lowry says of his style and art:
"I am a simple man, and I use simple materials: ivory blackvermilionPrussian blueyellow ochreflake white and no medium. That's all I've ever used in my paintings. I like oils ... I like a medium you can work into over a period of time." 
 
·      "You don't need brains to be a painter, just feelings."
·      "I am not an artist. I am a man who paints."
·      "If people call me a Sunday painter, I'm a Sunday painter who paints every day the week." 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.