An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

What the Roman's did for us...

Backblipped

Having grown up playing amongst the ruins of a Roman Fort on the course of the Antonine Wall, it was fascinating to be staying so close to Hadrian's Wall.  

I have a bit of a soft spot for the Romans (my blip name is the name of the native Scottish tribe the Romans would have encountered in the are of my village during the construction and occupation of the Antonine Wall) and I think I would have loved living near Hadrian's wall just as much.

Unfortunately my arthritis means there's no way I can explore the wall on foot but there's plenty of museums in the area and lots of lovely books on the Romans and the wall in the holiday cottage. 

After a leisurely morning (no alarms set.  Bliss :-) we set off to explore the surrounding area.  We were so lucky with the weather as rain was forecast and although there were a couple of showers, we missed them and got the best of the sunshine.

As we drove around we couldn't help but notice how long and straight some of the roads are.  Definitely a Roman influence :-)  

My blip is the B6318, which was great to drive.  The Sycamore Gap is clearly visible from the road, but I hadn't done my research and as we passed I glanced up and thought that looks like the Sycamore Gap but for some reason I thought it wasn't visible from the road so dismissed it and didn't take any photos!  Rookie error!  Never assume!

We ended up at the Greenhead  Hotel for dinner.  Delicious but massive portions.  We rolled out of the place and that was without dessert.  Back to the lovely cosy cottage where I put my pjs on and we settled down to watch a film.  Perfect end to the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.