An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

River Earn...

Backblipped 01.09.18


Up sharp this morning as I was meeting a lady called Carole at Gloagburn for coffee.

We'd never met before but a mutual friend put us in touch with each other as she felt we would "hit it off."  Carole has a son who is slightly older than Alan and like me, Carole has spent a chunk of her life being a Warrier Mum, battling all of her son's life to ensure he is not discriminated against and has the best chance to lead a fully and happy life.  It won't surprise you to learn we had a lot to talk about!  :-))

We sat down at 11am and in a blink it was 1.00pm!  We hardly drew breath!  There was a purpose to our meeting - to discuss the planned massive increase in charges local authorities are planning to charge people for their care support - but we barely touched on that!  So many shared experienced to catch up with first, leading to much nodding / angry shakes of heads depending on the experience, and of course lots of laughter.   We just hit it off.  
Carole had to head off just after 1.00pm and she summed up our meeting by saying she felt as if we'd known each other for years.  I wholeheartedly agree.  Another get together is being planned.

David had popped to the golf range and came to Gloagburn to pick me up and we ended up staying for lunch.  Drove the scenic route home and I grabbed my blip of the River Earn as we drove over Kinkell Bridge.  I am amazed it turned out as it was taken on my iPhone with my hand out the car window and raised high to "see" over the side of the bridge! 

When we got home I just had time to change into my swimming gear as Kirsteen the physio arrived for a session of pool physio.  She worked me very hard for a hour and half!  After she left I stayed in the pool for another hour just floating and relaxing.  It felt wonderful even though I looked like a prune.

Stuffed chicken breasts with mozzarella, fresh basil and sundries tomatoes then wrapped in parma ham for dinner.  

A lovely day until I got word from a friend that their handsome four year old Golden Retriever Finn has been diagnosed with an aggressive form of cancer.  Nothing can be done for him except keep him comfortable till the horrible time comes for a decision to be made as to his quality of life.  The vet reckons he has five months at best.  

He had a slight limp and they thought, as did the vet, it was a strained ligament.  Tests revealed the truth.  To say there are devastated is an understatement.  My heart breaks for them.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.