Photoliff

By Photoliff

Fence

This week I am going to shoot in square format for digital. The nice thing about using a camera with an EVF is that you can change the aspect ratio in the viewfinder. It certainly helps composing when the camera gives you the perspective that you want!

I have also remembered to take a film photo today with the Olympus Trip. It has been an interesting experience just having the one frame to play with for the day. Each time you see and image you have to weigh up if it is worth the single frame you have available to you. It reminds me of Joel Sternfeld's road trip across America in the late 70s where he travelled across America and could only expose two sheets of large format film per day. He said that it really focused you having such limited film available. I can sort of see what he meant by this.

One of my favourite images of his is the exhausted renegade elephant shot, what an image (the elephant was OK in the end). Here's a link to the image, which I think was shot on a 10x8 inch camera:

https://www.moma.org/collection/works/82395

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.