Travels with Alfie

By DavidCullen

And breath.........

5/365

After yesterday's car crash of a first day back at work, it was a major relief to get out with Alfie and de-stress. This is a view down the Tamar Valley on our favourite walk. Devon is on the left and Cornwall on the other side of the river.

I do admire those photographers that can create amazing dramatic landscapes where the sky and earth look like storm-tossed seas in the midst of Armageddon. I wish I knew how to do it or where to find them. I know the Tamar Valley well and can always find something new to photograph (I dithered between half a dozen photographs today) but for me it is all about tranquility and I hope that comes across in some of my pictures.

One hundred years ago this scene would have been very different; the woods on the left being the site of the largest copper mine in the world. Perhaps then it would have resembled Armageddon.

Hope you are having a peaceful weekend wherever you are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.