San Sebastián in the Sun

When I was eighteen, my great-aunt Jeannie died and left us all £50 each. As soon as I'd sat my A-levels, I bought a coach ticket to Bayonne, and then got a bus to San Sebastián (Donastia in Basque), where I looked after an American couple's four year old for a while. I fell in love with the place; in fact, it's probably where my love affair with "old European towns" (as my son calls it) was born. Ever since, have wanted to go back, today we did it, by driving much less and spending some hours there.

The Blip epitomizes the perfect holiday for me - cocktails with the old town reflected in the glasses, shining sea and boats in the background, tanned skin, and good music playing. Sadly, this was not us, but it's my favourite photo today. 

An extra shows one end of the main city beach, top middle is the big wheel; there is also a superb two-storey merry-go-round. And so much else.

Gratefuls:
- dreams coming true
- eating pintxos, food as an art form (an innovation since I was here)
- that beauty exists

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.