Ellisroger, Blip-superstar

Spent a fast-moving hour with Ellisroger at Powell's Bookstore, talking about, among other things, photography, blip friendships, and his impressions of Portland (yes, it does feel ‘progressive,’ he likes our trees, it’s a city where art matters). Then we got to chuckling over tasks human beings set for themselves. An artist he knew set out to make fifty portraits and hang them at an event attended by all fifty subjects; Roger is engaged in visiting all the States in the USA (dice were involved in one trip). We spoke of books and whales and many things, and we almost got to sealing wax but at the end of our time we were joined by his wife Tracey, whose sense of humor bowls me over. (He was looking at her as I made this photo, and you can see how she delights him.) I think she delivered more laughs per minute than any standup comedienne I’ve ever seen, proof yet again that brilliant British people excell at word-play, wit, and dry humo(u)r, and that I’m a sucker for it.

I missed blipping yesterday, though I did meet with Margie which was, as always, soul-nourishing. I was in the fifth day of a migraine and just couldn’t handle the computer screen. Today at last the headache went away, and I saw a neurologist who has suggested a new medication that may be a helpful preventive. I do hope.

A beautiful article came out in today’s Portland paper about my friend’s child who was murdered on the weekend (same photos, new text, still no explanation of what happened). Those who were touched by her story might want to read it, as it does a better job of describing Logan and her accomplishments and interests than the initial article. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.