Anne of Green Gables - Shuttered for the storm

The house is shuttered and ready for the storm. All garden and porch decor is in the garage. I will wait to bring the bird feeders in tomorrow morning as the birds, especially the hummingbirds, are very busy at them.

Have ice in a couple of coolers and we put drinks in one and sandwich makings in the other. That keeps the fridge doors closed!

Now it’s the hurry up and wait game, the part I hate the most.

I’m extra sad as the Bike MS New Bern, that was to take place this weekend has been canceled due to the hurricane. I was scheduled to be a volunteer there again this year. Also hoping the town of New Bern is not severely damaged by Dorian like she was by Florence last year.

Last year when Florence came through all our rivers were swollen and the ground was saturated already from above average rains. This year we are well below normal rainfall and so the ground is dry and rivers at normal or below normal levels. Hopefully this is in our favour.

In extras, I have a couple of shots inside my living room with the window shutter board up. Although all sunlight is blocked out there is some ambiance in the room with the various lights we have! :-)

Also in extras is my 7th and last book cover, Anne of Green Gables. My parents gave me the first three books I’m this series when I was about 10 years old and I have lost count the number of times I have read them. Many people do not realize there are 8 books in the set. A favourite of mine and a true classic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.