SINGERS 30th anniversary

What an incredible night!
In 1989 this club was started by Jeb Million a.k.a. Milne, Kevin Callen and Susan Worth, it started at the milk bar of Tottenham Court road next to the Astoria, it was a piano bar where incredible singers would congregate every week and sing mainly cover versions, support each other, sing together, learn from each other et cetera, we heard the famous and the up-and-coming and the top backing singers and session singers, it was just incredible and went on for over 20 years in different venues, at one time we were at the cockney on Tottenham Court road which hold about 600 with a full band.
This club is where I learnt my craft and made my contacts in the industry, I made my first record because somebody saw me singing there. I can’t emphasise how important this club was to me and so many others, my friend Andrew Wood-Mitchell put on this reunion at the Camden assembly, it was a joyous, emotional and wonderful night, the band were incredible and I saw so many old friends advices, just fabulous.
All photos by Max Ellis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.