PJ O Brien

En route to Valentia Island a pitstop in Sneem which is a very colourful and busy little place on the Ring of Kerry. I was bedazzled by the artistry of PJ O'Brien's pub. I liked O Shea's pinkness too, and the little old cabin with the wasp.
The drive up was lively - every possible type of weather going on from gales to torrential rain to sunshine to rainbows.

Before heading to my B&B on Valentia I checked out St Brendan's Well where I was taking the group the next day. There was a situation! Six highly frisky bullocks were rampaging all over the very small track leading to the well - they were trying to head butt each other, mate with each and were also showing off their bucking skills. On the other side of the fence- where they should have been - their mammies were hurtling up and down roaring at them! No way was I going anywhere near them. I had to climb over a fence and negotiate a very boggy gully to get to the well and hope that they would have disappeared by the next day,

My B&B was interesting, in what had once been a very posh house surrounded by a sub tropical garden. As I walked in I wondered if I had the right place for there were smelly dogs and toys all over the place and no sign of anyone. I had and the owners were lovely but it all felt a bit faded glory. I was too tired to go out and search for any food (I had had the most colossal peach croissant in Kenmare in the morning) so feasted on two clementines and half a bar of chocolate - in bed! .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.