Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

A dog’s breakfast?

Nice little pro democracy demo in Woking town centre early evening. You know things are bad when a quiet Surrey town generates a hundred or so protestors.

Dramatic times. Parliament and the country are embittered and embattled and the rest of the world is watching us with the same fascination that a series of Big Brother used to attract when the format was still fresh. We are living through the best of times and the worst of times and all is laid bare. Heroes and villains are defined purely by what side of the fence you are on.

The events of the last 24 hours will do nothing to help. Resigning tories will be replaced by hard right wingers, forcing the Conservative Party away from moderation and into extremism.  The only thing that will make a difference is if voters turn their back on the tories and move over to the lib dems. In that sense, the lib dems will benefit from their coalition between 2010 and 2015; they will have a credibility with defecting tories even if they are still loathed by labour voters. But I’m not sure it will happen. There are many good tories in this country but equally many who would carry on voting for the party even if Jacob Rees Mogg and co started wearing Nazi uniforms. I really wouldn’t like to try and predict the future.

For my part I had a charming start to the day. I was feeling distinctly under the weather - I think I've caught The Dizzle's malady - and was climbing the stairs (in the commuter crowd) at Guildford station rather wearily when a burly guy with a baseball cap coming down told me to “f**k off out of my way”. I was taken aback, I’ve been foul mouthed on stations before but usually after pub closing time and never before breakfast. This was a new experience … fortunately the lovely staff at Harris and Hoole restored my faith in human nature and made me coffee as well.

Lunch with The Dizzle in Yo Sushi. Too much food so a doggy bag was needed. Hope my Bao Bun doesn’t sag before I get to eat it ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.