Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

The Gypsy Church

Built in a wood in 1883 in order that the commoners, charcoal burners and gypsy itinerants were able to attend services, this is commonly known as the Gypsy Church.  I say 'commonly' but it is only about 10 miles from where I've lived for the last 39 years and unbelievably I never knew of its existence until 8 days ago.  I don't think anyone else I know knows of it either. 

So it's a very precious and private place, still in use and still for gypsies/travellers/Roma folk.  It is kept locked but you can go through the gate into the enclosure.  There are no memorials, etc, within the bit of fencing, but just outside beyond the east end there are two graves.  The headstones are made from one of those stone mushrooms rich people used to put on the edge of their lawns to stop 'tradesmen' damaging the grass.  The mushroom is split top to bottom and memorials engraved into the flat inside.  There are also engraved and decorated heart-shaped stones on top in memory of 'Mum' and 'Dad'.  An unusual, beautiful atmospheric place.  (Blip of the graves in Extras).

Now I'm going to cook myself a couple of crumpets and make a cuppa.  Speak to you soon xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.