Rainbow

Today had the possibility of rain all day so each walk outside without rain felt lucky. After we arrived at the Old Faithful Lodge we went to see Old Faithful go off. It was raining but then the sun came out and shone right on Old Faithful with glorious light. I filmed it and then realized two rainbows were out! This was taken with my cell phone near the conclusion. Old Faithful went insanely high, much, much higher than it went when my mother brought me here over four decades ago.

I did see a bear. There were tons of cars parked along the road and a bunch of people out, looking toward the woods with binoculars and cameras and cell phones so I asked what they saw and the woman told me it was a bear and it would take a very long lens to see it. I pulled over, put on a very long lens, walked over and joined. Eventually the bear lifted her/his head AND I got the shot, which I look forward to seeing later on a larger screen.

I don’t feel we were idiotic - we were all really, really far away and much more likely to be run over walking on the road to get to the viewing spot than we were to be hurt by the bear.

I heard a joke. If you are chased by a bear and you climb a tree and the bear climbs after you it is a black bear. If the bear knocks the tree down it is a grizzly.

The gift shop has some gorgeous pictures printed on .... canvas. I’m shocked. I printed my astrophotography picture on canvas and hated it. I saw pictures at Shenandoah printed on canvas and....I hated it. These were printed on canvas but they looked fantastic. The photographer is going to be in the lobby tomorrow so I’ll ask him who he uses/what his recommendations are. The woman at reception said that he was just asking her about printing on metal so maybe I can share knowledge back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.