Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Not sure I've twigged

A few years ago we bought three blueberry plants as we like the fruit.  I did everything the guides said; planted them in large pots, used the right compost, watered them only with rainwater and fed them the right feed.  The first year we got a few berries on each, but the blackbirds had them.  I covered them with netting; the blackbirds found their way in.  We managed to nab about a bowlful of berries before the blackbirds got them, and that was it.  But it was still nice to eat our own home produce.

The second year I looked after the bushes as though they were my own babies.  Two of them died.  The remaining one produced a few fruits, which the blackbirds got in their entirety.

I continued to look after the third and final bush this year.  It has now died too.  But it has died a very nice colour, so this is one of the branches on it before the whole thing goes in the bin.  At least I got a Blip out of it, even if not any blueberries.  My only consolation is that I read an interview with a blueberry farmer who said that they are very difficult to grow.

I've added an extra; a Small White butterfly.  I've seen a few around this year but this is the first time one has landed long enough for me to take a shot of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.