Birchen Edge with Sheffield Mountaineering group. 

It's the second time I've been climbing outside since I broke my fingers, but today, with the awkward starts that Birchen is well known for, there were several routes that I just didn't have enough confidence in my fingers to do the first move, and it didn't help that I'm only 5'5"!

I did my first trad lead here three years ago, but I couldn't do the first move of the route on a top rope today!  

I did do my finger exercises while walking in the Alps, although it meant I mostly did them on the trail and I even carried the little tub of TheraPutty all the way, but now I'm back I must do more!  I don't yet feel confident enough to belay as my grip isn't 100%...  Hopefully it will improve, but it's not quite 12 weeks since I fell so perhaps I'm being a little impatient.  Time will tell, as the saying goes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.