En vacance

I leave Dan and Tim slumbering in the flat and rush to St Pancras. The Eurostar whisks me painlessly to Paris, the RER plonks me at Gare de Lyon with time to buy some lunch, and the connection to Montelimar passes flawlessly.

Nick and Anna-Maria are still some hours away from Montelimar (on their way from
Italy). I take a bus to the “mall” and spend some money at Decathlon - sunglasses (5€), a wind-up mini torch (6€), another shirt (10€). I even get a folding spork (because on the train today I had to eat my tabouleh by turning my broccoli into a spoon).

Back in town I have a pastis at the station bar (and finish my raw vegetables) before heading to another bar that furnished me with wines, olives and nuts (3€).

Later, I walk across le Pont de la Liberation. Nick has had some issues with his hands, so Anna-Maria is driving. The Savage’s bagnole, owned by Peter (deceased), insured by Catriona (deceased), is then driven by me to the environs of Dieulefit.

At the barn, Val rustles up an excellent salad. We sit at the kitchen table chatting amicably. Hugh suggests that he might be interested in an eco-burial, chez-moi and I remark that I’d better hurry up and get some permissions, then.

I potter off to Andrew’s (deceased) hut for some well-earned rest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.