Vizinhos barulhentos

Loud neighbours.

It’s been a very sedate one today. The city was surprisingly quiet, perhaps related to ongoing shop closures after the papal visit, even though he’s safely in Madagascar by now. I strolled to my favourite sunny café spot to spend the warmest hours of the day reading and basking like a lizard.

I find in this role, which is as much about new partnerships and projects as it is about managing existing grants and finances, completing follow-up within official work time is unfeasible. During the working day I am usually tracking people down or consulting someone about something. Therefore whilst my neighbours held an excruciatingly loud party, on the other side of the wall I was drafting terms of reference and a business case for a new position.

Today I strolled past what is Maputo’s only synagogue and thought it looked bloody lovely. A quick bit of research informed me that the Jewish population of the city in 2018 was recorded as 35. Another article assured readers that the small number didn’t mean it wasn’t thriving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.