Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Altering Magazines With Citra Solv

Boy, this process is not for the faint of heart...I think after I post this photo I'm heading for the bathtub! I literally smell like Citra solv. It's not a bad smell, rather orangy, but I'm sure it's not that great for your skin or body (they say wear gloves, but also say it's all natural?)

This process works best on National Geographic magazines as they have the thick ink...you spray the citro solv on the pages, and leave them for 10-15 minutes to dissolve the ink, and in the process you get spotting and transfer of ink from one image to the next. But you have to then break apart the stuck together INKY pages and hang to dry before they are stuck forever. It's a nasty job and you need a well ventilated spot (hard to find on a cold wintry day where it's raining occasionally).

The end result is amazing, and I am anxious to try some of this new paper in my collages. It takes about a day for it to completely dry and for the vapors to leave, but I think it's a cool process and I'm pleased with the results. NOW OFF TO THE BATH I GO!

To see more photos of the altered papers, CLICK HERE!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.