Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

A day away from the house

And I probably was on my foot for toooo long!      I am so frustrated with staying in one place here at the house with the tv, a book or the computer even though I have been getting out for short trips to run errands, etc.   Today, I decided I was going to go to the large antique/junk store to spend a good part of the day just looking around.   So I was on my feet for about 3 hours!     Which was not good for the ankle but so worth it for my mental health!   

There were some interesting finds at the store that I wanted (if I had an unlimited budget and room to put them) with the best thing being a repurposed RCA Victor Television from the 50's (it looks like one we had when I was a young girl) that now housed an AQUARIUM!    It was wonderful with two little goldfish swimming around as if they were on TV!!        Clockwise in the photo are  an old clock that did not work but it was so pretty, a desk and chair that I think may be a Chippendale that I lusted after,   a rose bud lampshade,   a stack of blue bowls with cut glass bottles that held flavorings so it said on the tag (I might go back for those bottles!),  a pumpkin vine gold edged plate (only one!),  pitchers with faces (very weird to see them!), behind the cut glass is me! ( I love the speckled old mirror),  the little wooden table with chairs that I could have taken home if I had room in the house and I should have bought that runner that was on the table!,   a mirror I loved,  a complete table set up for fall, the dishes are called the old mill (I should have taken a photo of the plates, so pretty) , a lamp shade in cobalt blue, and last a candle that the shop sold that smells like coffee roasting!   It is soy so it will burn clean and last for ages.   They were burning it while I was there and the fragrance was all of the huge store.    So I did buy it!!     I also bought something else that I will use for my blip tomorrow.

I had to ice my foot when I got home but I think part of that is the outside temperature today is close to 100F again!     Which is typical for early September here.    

In the extra is my coffee cup photo for today which I did in the light box.  Kim Klassen's class resumes Monday and the subject for the week will be still life photos.   I am trying to learn how to set up things so I can get some decent photos to share with that class.    

Hope everyone is having a good weekend!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.