atoll

By atoll

Field Striations

I have been working most of today, and the plan is the same for tomorrow. Trying to catch up before all hell breaks loose with email and telephone on Monday. I am still also way behind on my blip, so apologies again for my lack of commenting of late.

This shot was taken from Tabley Road on a walk up to the Knutsford Cemetary. As per my blip of the other week, I have since agreed with the mentioned War Graves Photographic Project to document the 31 graves out there for them. I thought it would be quite easy, but it is proving surprisingly difficult getting the daylight conditions right, and avoiding your shadow on the lighter limestone and marble tombstones.

Walking up, I liked the stubbled texture and parallel striations in the soil of this farmers field. I thought I would use it for a change, as I have been gazing skywards far too much of late (story of my life, basically).

Postscript: Top highlight of the day so far was MrsB telling me that West Ham versus Manchester United in the 3rd Round of the FA Cup was live on the telly late afternoon. I may have missed the first 50 minutes of the match, but it was a real unexpected treat. The game turned out to be a 2:2 draw in the end, and with a typical late equaliser from United right at the very close. I have to admit shamefacedly that I got rather 'over enthusiastic' at this point in my choice of language in front of MrsB and J, whilst shouting my praise and admiration to the wonderful striker that is Robin Van Persie. My excuse was that I had been transported to the football stands just for that briefest of moments. But what a goal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.