CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The first Morning Glory flower

I was so pleased to see this flower, our first Morning Glory bloom, bursting forth from the mass of leaves climbing up the trellis.

I grew a few Morning Glory plants from seeds I harvested last summer, but despite growing well with a profusion of leaves, I thought they might never flower this summer. I have no idea what has changed but suddenly a profusion of flower buds appeared and today this flower opened.

These flowers only appear at dawn and by the end of that day they have curled up and withered. I will curt off most of the flowers once they wither,  and then allow some to stay and complete their life cycle and then produce seeds. 

I expect there will be a lot of Morning Glory blips to come, so be prepared.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.