CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The old bulb's fading flowers

I found this old bulb had begun to grow again earlier this year. It had been out in the cabin where a lot of faded blooming plants end retire to.

Early in the summer I brought it outside onto the patio so it could have full sun and watered it regularly. It suddenly sent up a strong shoot indicating a new set of flowers would unfurl. To my surprise there were five blooms in quick succession none of them lasting more than a couple of days. 

As the last flower is already starting to fade I thought I should record its passage. It is a rather strange pink colour, which I don't remember seeing before, so am wondering whether in this new season it's genetic signals have reverted to a former type, if that is possible. As this is a back blip I can't remember the circumstances of taking the picture, but sadly I do find the resulting image a bit murky.

A lesson here is that labelling plants is a very good idea and I shall try to do so, if only I knew what they were in the first place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.