Headed out fairly early for a Sunday morning to catch the spring flowers at Kings Park. I arrived just after 9am and to my dismay the crowds were huge already!! Had to park miles away which didnt bother me as the park is looking fabulous no matter where you are! Although even at that hour it was warming up and got hotter as the morning progressed.

Stayed for four hours so you can imagine how many photos I took. So its been a difficult job trying to choose. In the end I just poked my finger at the screen ;;o) no not really but I was a bit overwhelmed with them all!

Given that the paper daisies or everlastings as we call them are always the big hit of the season I’ve chosen just one of many that I took for the main shot, I liked that there was another photographer in it! :o)

In extras is a huge yellow caterpillar on a very unusual wattle bush, would love to see what sort of butterfly emerges from that one! A gorgeous yellow mallee flower with ants tending to the nectar and the huge stamen! Another mallee flower with a lovely bee who exhausted itself drunkenly going in and out and in and out of that big flower! Around the Eternal Flame were a lot of wreaths and the red flower is from one of them, not sure what its called but its so beautiful. Plus a lovely red banksia and a baby banksia in its circle of leaves. And finally some of the interesting ways of creating shade with colored umbrellas dotted around the place.

All in all a lovely little getaway on my own ;o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.