New school

Queen Elizabeth School is the secondary school in Kirkby Lonsdale. All my children have been there, indeed Dan and Abi are still pupils. Charlie, my eldest, started at QES back in 2002.

Over the years, things have changed a lot, not least with the amount of building work that has taken place, most dramatically over the last year or so when a whole building has gone up for the new school, Queen Elizabeth Studio. 

I was shown 'round, this morning, and it really is extraordinary. I felt quite excited on behalf of the students who'll be starting there, this week. 

Afterwards we came out and crossed over Biggins Lane to the main school site. Some of the buildings date back only a few years, others are much older, dating back as far as 1840 when school moved from Mill Brow, down by the Lune, up to its current location. 

There's a sense of history here that can make me feel a little giddy! My involvement with the school, which seems to have been quite a long time, suddenly appears quite fleeting against a school history that started as a 'Free grammar school' in 1591. I wonder what will be here in 400 years' time?

****
-10.6 kgs
Reading: 'Are We Still Rolling?' by Phill Brown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.