TINY TUESDAY - SALVIA "AMETHYST LIPS"

The work in the kitchen is progressing well;  we had no cooker, hob or microwave last night so it was just as well that Mr. HCB had made an executive decision to go out for a meal, which we really enjoyed.  We went over to the Hall & Woodhouse eatery, near Waitrose, at about 4 p.m. and took our time - Mr. HCB enjoyed fish and chips and I had a Buddha bowl, which was very good and fitted in well with my new eating plan.  Speaking of which, I have just started Week 12, have lost 22 pounds dropped two dress sizes and now need lots of new clothes!

The “down-side” of losing weight is that I often feel very cold, so had the fan blowing out hot air as we sat in the midst of our “mess” in the conservatory this morning.  Once Mr. HCB had left to go to Bristol for four days of cricket (I know, he must be mad!) I decided that I needed to do something, so put on a coat and went out into the garden, looking for inspiration for Tiny Tuesday.  

I took about 100 photographs, and then saw one of our new plants, Salvia “Amethyst Lips” and nestled on one of the stems was a tiny white feather.  I realised that this stem was bent over, so decided to pick it and take it indoors.  I have to say that I never realised, until I picked it, what a lovely aromatic smell the stem, foliage and flowers had - I have put a shot of the flower in as an extra, so that you can see how beautiful they are.

I tried shooting with a white background, but am never very successful with that, so tried my black velvet background instead and was much happier.  

Whilst I was fartnarkling around with my photographs, one of the kitchen fitters called on me to make an executive decision about which way I wanted the draining board to go on our new sink - and I wished that Mr. HCB was here.  However, I knew there was no point in ringing him, since he would be driving - so decided to leave it the same way as it was before.  Paul drew a line around the sink, which was sitting on the worktop, but said I could still change my mind until he had actually cut the hole - but I think I’ve made the right decision.

I spent two hours with Mum last night, watching a rubbishy Quiz programme on the television, but she seemed to enjoy it - or perhaps it was just that she was watching it with someone!  She needs more antibiotics as she seems to have another UTI, so hopefully they will soon work and she will then be more comfortable.

I apologise again for not commenting much lately, and know you understand, but I do miss my interaction with you all and appreciate your kindness and concern.

“I am in awe of flowers; 
     not because of their colors, 
          but because even though they 
have dirt in their roots, 
     they still grow; 
          they still bloom.”
D. Antoinette Foy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.