CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

One of two Mistle Thrushes flies away

I was eating my breakfast and looking out of the window at the garden behind the house. I'd heard the noise I recognised of the council mowers in the cemetery on the other side of the footpath beside the house.

I spotted a rather elegant bird, which I didn't recognise at first, land on the top branches of the ash tree at the bottom of the garden. I quickly changed the lens on my camera and gently opened the sliding door hoping not to disturb it. As it was at least thirty to forty yards away I tried a few different settings whilst hoping I might catch it in flight.

In fact I missed it when it suddenly flew to another tree behind the next garden, and I then realised it had a partner there. They were perched only a couple of yards from each other and then I realised it might be a thrush, although it seemed rather large.

I decided they'd been disturbed by workmen in the cemetery and that they might fly back there. I kept watching but missed the flight of the first bird I'd seen, when it returned to the rear of the ash tree, where it was out of my sight.

I concentrated on the second bird which started to adjust its position, and then it too took off in the same direction as the first bird. I managed a couple of shots of its flight and like this one best, although it is not very sharp, but I think it shows some of its personality, somewhat shy but determined. It too disappeared to the rear of the ash tree and I didn't see them again, but I will keep a look out. 

I'm delighted to have seen them as they are very uncommon in our garden. The autumn berry crop might be attracting them, so I'll keep my fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.