CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The River Severn looking upstream towards Longney

I headed to Epney after finishing my shopping in Gloucester. I had no plans except to get some fresh organic milk and cream from the excellent 'Jess's Ladies' organic herd of cows which are farmed close to here. The weather suddenly cleared up and the cool northerly winds abated although the clouds still came scudding in fits and starts.

I stood on the eastern bank of the River Severn at Epney at the apex of  the massive meander. Gloucester is directly north of here as are the Malvern Hills which can just be seen on the horizon.

It was a perfect time to be there watching the many birds feeding on the sandbanks revealed by the ebbing tide. They were mostly gulls and crows, but I also spotted Little Egrets and a single Cattle Egret amongst the herd of cows on the far bank at Rodley. A heron set up the flocks of gulls at one point which animated the whole scene.

I love this spot.

ps
I'm afraid the quality of the Blip image is very poor and had blurred much of the detail. I'm not sure what can be done except to post versions which can be seen in higher quality on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.