MikeWest

By MikeWest

Waxed

Late summer and these flowers are just beginning to emerge, they almost looked as if they could be made of wax. And strangely, I later discovered, they are called Yellow Wax Bells.

Aside from their unusual texture, it was again the stark contrast of bright yellow against a dark background that appealed to me. Photographing them was tricky even in a light breeze and ducked down below a bank. At this close range, even the slightest movement results in a blurry shot. Iso 800 and a wide aperture, still the shutter speed was quite low. One day I'll have to try an even higher iso to see if I can cope.

All the clusters I looked at had one "bell" with no flower, only a protruding "tongue". Not sure if that's part of the plant, or the flower had dropped off already.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.