Resolutions

By RonRagsdale

Baby Binturong

Today was a busy, disrupted, stressful day, for one reason and another, though I did manage to get a lot accomplished. Just not a lot of it being work-related, though I had a long aspirational list of goals at the start of the day. 

One of the tasks I completed was to pop into the zoo and renew our annual family pass. As I had a bit of time, I went to see if the baby binturongs (there are two, born in April) were out and about. And they were! They are so cuddly and curious. They were really interested to come see what I was up to at the viewing station. Their mum was cautiously protective, also coming to assert her authority on the situation, which led to some reassuring chin rubs (see extra).

The binturong is a Sumatran "bear cat" - related to neither!  It's most closely related to civets, though it is the only species in its genus. It has a prehensile tail, and is very agile in the trees, and are very intelligent.

I wasn't sure about putting this one up as my main blip as it isn't perfectly focused, but I loved the expression!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.