Resolutions

By RonRagsdale

Partridge Feed

It was a cloudy and blustery day this morning, and by lunchtime it wasn't getting any better, but I was determined to set off on a mid-day walk anyway. I decided to go off towards Catley Park again, though I'd been there a few times and have blipped from that path, so wasn't sure I'd see anything new. 

However, passing through the gap in the 2nd hedgerow, I came upon this glorious field of sunflowers! I was bemused, though, to find that it was actually a mixture of sunflowers, poppies, millet, and other seed-bearing flowering plants (more in the extras). As I was taking photos, the farmer came up and had a chat. I asked him about the mix, and he said they were trying to attract partridges, so that they could have a hunt later in the year. A beautiful field, and it was attracting loads of other birds and pollinating insects!

I'm so glad I kept walking, despite the grey skies and wind!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.