stujphoto

By stujphoto

The Music Room

This is a room in my son's house in Edinburgh which is set up as you can see as a music room. It actually a multi-purpose room as it acts a library - floor to ceiling bookcases on the wall you cannot see and as a games room. Tucked away on the bottom right of the picture there is a TV monitor and a range of games consoles and I suspect this is the activity in this modern day and age that consumes most of my grandchildren's time. At least it is a room that gets used quite a lot unlike the front parlour of my childhood which left for entertaining important visitors with its glass fronted cabinet containing the best china in it. Thank heavens some of the social pretensions of that age have vanished.

I have included it as my blip because last night it was used as a music room on the occasion of my 70th birthday party. Two of my grand-daughters performed on piano and violin for the assembled company, luckily a fairly small informal group, else we could not all have fitted into the room. It was such a nice gesture and one that and one, that despite their limited experience they readily agreed to and organised which pieces they were going to play. I think at their age I myself would have been mortified to play for my relatives and as they were playing I squirmed for them. I am sorry you are only seeing the empty room but it was a surprise for me at the time and I did not have my camera to hand. Still little things like this mean a lot.

So as you can see there is another side to the old curmudgeon you normally get !!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.