Fritzlar

After Coffee we decided to drive to Fritzlar, an very pretty town with a lot of medieval architecture.
My parents and I did never go to Fritzlar - we always went to Bad Wildungen. Which is slightly closer, but not as pretty.
So I do not know Fritzlar very well.
We knew from last night, that the case would be only delivered in the afternoon and when I phoned the courier at 12 pm they had not even started yet. I told them that they can put the case just in front of the house, no one would steal it from there as the house is not visible from the road.

We strolled a bit through the old town and ended up at Café Hahn for some coffee and food.
I was not really hungry and Neil got some eggs.
When I went inside I saw lovely cakes and was fancying either the cheese cake or the apple cake. Both looked amazing. 
The quite eccentric owner decided I should a half piece of each and cut it for me immediately. It was rather 2 pieces than 2 halves!
We sat out side and he came for a chat. He is Dutch and probably the most interesting person in this sleepy town.
He was a Dutch Coach and business consultant who took over the café in order to make something happen in Fritzlar.
He also showed me an amazing photo book from Andrew Zuckerman! Amazing portraits of famous old people and an interview about what they believe is wisdom!
Look it up - it is incredible photography! I had no time to read the text ;).
When we left we strolled a bit further and ended up in a Delicatessen Shop sampling German Whisky! There are apparently over 300 whisky producers in Germany!!! That is more than in Scotland!! However the output is less than 2 years Scottish angel share :).

We hit the shops and bought some Flammkuchen for dinner before we drove home.
We sent the evening playing the new board game I had packed and ate Flammkuchen.
It was a cosy evening.

Blipping Café Hahn. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.