Old Town Building

The social excitement of yesterday was too much for my brain to switch off last night leaving me sleepless for hours. When I did eventually fall asleep, I slept in and missed the gym, which under normal circumstances would have been no bad thing, but after yesterday’s blowout lunch, it was my using up calories clause.

My friend from Kelso was in town this morning for a hearing test and when I met her off the bus, we chatted for so long she didn’t notice the time and discovered she had missed her appointment. We did the quickest dash possible from John Lewis to Boots in Princes Street only to find that she wasn’t in fact booked in because of the shop’s problem with their internet. Fortunately they took her anyway and told her she wasn’t as deaf as her husband said she was. I look forward to hearing how he takes that bit of information.

My blip is of the enormous pile driver in the Cowgate beside the foundations of the Central library whose ground floor on George IVth Bridge I was standing beside. It appears to be for the construction of a £65 million 235 bedroom development despite the concerns of UNESCO.

Yet another hotel in Edinburgh? Are the City Fathers not taking account of the opinions of the locals? All we don’t need is more visitor accommodation. The critical Mass of tourists has been reached. Ask anyone who has not got a greedy finger in the pie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.