Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Green trees

I am enjoying getting out and walking in the woods again - today we went back to our usual walking place, Oxshott Heath, and had a lovely walk and met a few dogs - including a pair of very slobbery Sharpei dogs, which was flying about as they had a shake but thankfully (the slobber) missed landing on Xena. The woods are still looking very green with no sign of autumn other than the bracken which is starting to go orange.

I managed to go grocery shopping before lunch, and then after lunch I met a friend and we walked with her two dogs in a different woods. It was a bit long for Xena and so she slept happily afterwards in the car while my friend and I had a quick coffee at a nearby cafe, which worked as I parked the car directly outside it.

I am about to go finish preparing supper - I need to keep a roster at the back door so those in for supper can tick the list before they leave in the morning - I got it all wrong today, I forgot that Gavin was not in for supper and Meriel was, and I made a beef casserole which was not ideal as Meriel is vegetarian. Luckily I had enough some quorn mince in the freezer so could make something for Meriel. 

I heard this week that Xena's sibling, (Miss Red) managed to escape from her property through a hole in the fence. Her half sibling (an older male from the breeder's first litter) jumped the fence to look after her and the pair crossed a field and were found at a nearby pub!! They don't wear collars when at home so they did not have identity discs on. Luckily, someone at the pub was from a dog rescue centre and had a scanner in her car, so she was able to scan their microchips and they were returned to the owners. Whew, what a lucky escape that was! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.