devonshire quarrenden

Two years ago on a very wet February day, we planted some apple trees in our garden. One of them had the wonderful name of Devonshire Quarrenden. I was very surprised when this year it began to produce apples, and have been watching the 9 red fruits as they ripen. This evening I decided to see if one of them would come away from the branch and this one did..I had read that they don't keep and are best eaten straight from the tree, so I followed that advice. It really was a lovely sweet apple :-) Devonshire Quarrenden apples are a very old English variety - you can read more about them HERE.

The early part of the day was very wet and the cafe was quite busy. After work, it was time for my 6 monthly visit to Michael at Basement 20 for a haircut and a catch up. Fortunately the rain stopped just as I was leaving the salon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.