I THANK THE WEATHER GODS

for the glorious sunny crisp day. At one moment Piet Hein said that the first sunshine, and only a little bit for that matter, would appear only towards my birthday. I reacted in awe that will be a whole week without the sun. But look a minute later between the clouds blue and pink spots appeared and after half an hour the sky was blue. So we departed for a walk along the beach.
It was a day to feel happy to be alive, the sand of the Zandmotor covered with perhaps thousand of gulls, standing near each other, the low water covered with another thousand floating gulls. At some point they flew in a formation above the sea and softly landed again at their safe spots.
On our way back I saw a dark head appearing in the water, could it be really? a seal? Yes it was, for almost a whole year I had not seen one. Piet Hein had at one time while swimming in sea found a seal very near him, almost like playing.
In my picture a swarm of the gulls.
Mischa had a different lens and her photo of the gulls can you see here.

My haiku:

That view I never
Hope to forget the calm gulls
Covering the sand

And the latin proverb:

After clouds a clear sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.