dreaming

By dreaming

Nice

Two very nice things happened today while I was at Central Market looking for my silly blip.  A baby sitting in a shopping cart gave me a big smile before I had a chance to smile at her.  And the cashier complimented my new shirt.  Those things made me feel good.

It made up a bit for it being cold and damp today, and for my having accidentally set my alarm for 8 PM instead of 8 AM. which meant awakening at 9:45, Thus I arrived an hour late for tutoring.  I worked with the Taiwanese Bea, reading an article about Brexit and explaining a lot of colloquialisms and weirdly phrased sentences (I would have sworn the writer was not a native English speaker) in the article, as well as the implications of Brexit and what the consequences of an exit without an agreement with the EU might be.  We also discussed American expressions such as "put your foot in your mouth" and "not a snowball's chance in hell."  It was fun.

So my Silly Saturday blip is this set of amusing dinnerware for kids featuring whimsical animals.  There were other funnier sets out there, but they weren't displayed so that I could get a photo of the whole thing.  In Extra you can see some really colorful pear-shaped candles that I found in the floral department.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.