A tough day

The phone woke me up this morning, and it was May, crying hysterically.  The voices are getting more threatening, and telling her she will have to leave the home and go to the hospital.  She said she'd had no sleep at all despite being given the emergency tranquilizer pill that was prescribed.  I've never heard her so upset.  I told her to ask for another pill and that I'd call later.  Talked to Lex, who was going up to Bellingham today, and we agreed that she would text the owner of the home and let her know what was happening, and I would go up to visit May.  It was dreadful weather for driving - heavy fog, rain, very slick road, and drivers zooming past oblivious to other drivers.  It was really frightening - I wanted to go a comfortable speed for the conditions - about 45 miles per hour - and all around cars were going 60 mph or more.

But I made it to May's house intact and went inside to find that she was just fine.  I don't know if they gave her the pill, but she was quite calm, doing her nails when arrived.  We played cards for an hour and then she asked if I was ready to be on my way.  I said, "Do you want me to stay?" and she said she wasn't trying to get rid of me, which of course she was.  The psychiatric nurse will be visiting tomorrow with perhaps another adjustment in her medication in the offing.  The new med has had no impact on the voices, as far as I can tell.

On my way out, I took photos of the back garden, which has pinwheels in among the plants and out on the lawn.  I like the whimsy.  Heading home, the rain had stopped, the traffic wasn't too bad, and I decided to stop at Trader Joe's for some flower photos.  Well, everyone in the neighborhood had the same idea - it was mobbed.  But I bought a few treats for myself - I needed them after such a day -and photographed a sign (Extra) and made it home okay.  I hope to sleep in tomorrow and wake up ready to go back to what's going on in my own life.

Sarah has invited me to go wedding dress shopping on October 12 - I'm really looking forward to that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.