dreaming

By dreaming

Rainflowers return

On October 14 of last year, I blipped a photo of a sunflower on a high terrace blowing in the wind on a stormy day.  I couldn't even be sure if it was real.  Well, today I saw that the flower was back and had brought companions!  I guess it was real after all.  It was being blown pretty badly by today's wind, but I'm optimistic - after all, it's still alive.

Today at the library we had a surfeit of tutors.  Just about all the volunteers came and many of our regulars, including Thanh, did not.  So I found myself working with the Taiwanese woman I told you about before.  She has degrees in statistics and ran her own business back home.  But here she's been applying for jobs she would not be considered for, and we have worked on her resume and cover letter in the past.   Her English usage is odd, both too vague and too specific at the same time.  She uses generalities when she should give some details, and vice versa.  In looking at her letter, the main point I tried to get across to her is that, in your letter, you don't want to raise any red flags that would cause them not to give you an interview.  For instance, you don't tell them your English is not great - you let them decide when they meet you if it's up to their standard.  You focus on what you have done that parallels what they do, to get their interest.  I don't know how much of what I said she actually took home with her, but, short of shaking her, I did my best.  She is very frustrating to work with!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.